german version

Distance is the opposite of closeness. The essentially distant object is the unapproachable one. Unapproachability is indeed a major quality of the cult image. True to its nature, it remains “distant, however close it may be.” The closeness which one may gain from its subject matter does not impair the distance which it retains in its appearance. Walter Benjamin (1)


The fundamental characteristics of Futurist architecture will be impermanence and transience. Our houses will last less time than we do. Every generation must remake its own city anew.
Antonio Sant'Elia (2)


I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those... moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. NEXUS-6 N6MAA10816 (3)

Here today, tomorrow’s yesterday

Daniel H. Wild

To what do we want to bid farewell? What would we like to forget? We often imagine history as a relentless passage of time and that which used to be modernity recedes ever further into a distance in danger of disappearing once and for all. Visions of yesterday that were driven by enlightenment zeal seem outdated today. Alleged utopian pyres in béton brut or weathering steel are disposed of to make way for new glass palaces. How we enjoy watching video clips of collapsing new buildings that are demolished with explosives in an efficient and timely manner. The Tannhauser Gate drawings by Alekos Hofstetter and Florian Göpfert undermine the necessity of a utopian nostalgia as an effective counterpart in the face of a de-radicalization of imagination and, with hefty artistic impudence to boot, they repurpose postwar modern buildings into timeless sites of worship. Nostalgia only appears as an ironic form of a standstill in their work and thus functions as another image of time, one in which the human figure and all hopes toward its realization have become superfluous.

With this perspective, Hofstetter and Göpfert also reference the destructive utopias in the imagination of the 20th century, where Stalinism became the logical consequence of modernity and futurism moved right along toward aestheticizing fascism. In doing so, in a considerably brazen manner no less, they suggest a direct connection to the aesthetics of the postwar and Cold War period. According to the two artists, this period is likewise marked by the superiority of material in a space devoid of humans. Material might excludes the individual human in favor of an abstract ideal of the socialist comrade or the social democratic citizen.

Consequently, this scheme unites the postwar buildings of the Federal Republic in Hannover with new housing in German Democratic Halle-Neustadt, the satellite cities of Paris with the working-class districts of Glasgow, and makes visible the parallels between the global promise of the United Nations and the arrogance of a planned capital in the highlands of Brazil. In the vision of Tannhauser Gate resides the overarching symbolic power of the quotidian postwar urban character, one in which the friendship among the peoples is implored at the Olympic Games in Sarajevo, while Drachenfels and Petersberg in the Seven Hills guard over the moderation of a Bonn Republic, just as we find nods toward titoist memorials for the Battle of the Sutjeska or the Monument to the Revolution in Podgari, to French vacation colonies, or to the revolving restaurant in the mountain world of Piz Gloria. The fact that this winter vacationers’ destination turned out to be a lair of Ernst Stavro Blofeld is of equal importance as the set design by Ken Adams in movies with a secret agent in Her Majesty’s service or the sentimental memory fragments of an android, created by the Tyrell Corporation, whose powers of imagination dwarf those of human individuals by far.

Once German workers were warned: “The Social Democratic Party wants to take away your villas in Ticino.” As it were, the brutalist new and remodeled buildings of the Tannhauser Gate, situated as they are in pseudo-romantic landscapes alongside the refuse of postmodern semiotics, are in all likelihood a clever ruse as well. Concrete. It depends on what you do with it, after all. Nevertheless, Alekos Hofstetter and Florian Göpfert are concerned with the conditioning of human sentience through architecture. Indeed, assertions of dominion and mechanisms of power also determine whether and to what degree architectural designs produce perplexities, confusion, and an overstrain of sensuousness. In a paradoxical manner, Hofstetter and Göpfert manage to bring back that which had faded into distance by way of rapture, while they provide, with analytical clarity, an important contribution to the long overdue social-aesthetic debate around the desolation that is bound to arise in the wake of the growing repression of modernity at the same time. Nothing less than the end of history was proclaimed at modernity’s coda and, in light of such declarations, the Tannhauser Gate drawings show us that the connection between architecture and claims to sovereignty and power structures are still relevant today.

After the end of history we find remnants of long-forgotten civilizations like explorers at the threshold in Jules Verne: The Mysterious Island, Machu Picchu, Tumak, or that which Benjamin once called the “anonymous toil” of contemporaries. The edifices in these distant, strange lands at the Tannhauser Gate insist on their right to existence and will fulfill all social democratic promises one day, just as the Wilhelminian fantasies of power in the 19th century found their monument in the Teutoburg Forest. They, too, once promised to bestow a meaningful tranquility, whereas here we are contemporary witnesses to a fleeting brutalism, resurrected from ruins and with a human face. The Tannhauser Gate admonishes that if this glimpse were to disappear, however, then our communal everyday environment would soon become part of a bygone future time, a time whose only hope had been for permission to keep waiting.

(1) Walter Benjamin, “The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction”, in Illuminations: Essays and Reflections. Ed. Hannah Arendt and trans. Harry Zohn. New York: Schocken Books, 1968.
(2) Antonio Sant'Elia (1888-1916), Manifesto dell’Architettura Futurista, Lacerba 2:15, Milano, 1914.
(3) The Tannhauser Gate is a fictitious place first mentioned in the film Blade Runner (Ridley Scott, USA 1982).

⇑  zum Seitenanfang
Impressum

english version

Ferne ist das Gegenteil von Nähe. Das wesentlich Ferne ist das Unnahbare. In der Tat ist Unnahbarkeit eine Hauptqualität des Kultbildes. Es bleibt seiner Natur nach »Ferne so nah es sein mag«. Die Nähe, die man seiner Materie abzugewinnen vermag, tut der Ferne nicht Abbruch, die es nach seiner Erscheinung bewahrt. Walter Benjamin (1)


Futuristische Architektur wird grundsätzlich hinfällig und vorübergehend sein. Unsere Häuser werden weniger beständig sein als wir. Jede Generation muss ihre eigene Stadt neu erschaffen.
Antonio Sant'Elia, Manifest der futuristischen Architektur, 1914 (2)


I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those... moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. NEXUS-6 N6MAA10816 (3)

Heute hier und morgen gestern

Daniel H. Wild

Wovon wollen wir Abschied nehmen? Was möchten wir vergessen? Oft denken wir uns Geschichte als einen unaufhaltsamen Lauf der Zeit und das, was die Moderne war, rückt immer weiter in eine Ferne, die nach und nach zu verschwinden droht. Von Aufklärungseifer getragene Visionen scheinen im Heute nur aus dem Gestern übrig geblieben. Vermeintliche Scheiterhaufen von Utopien in Sichtbeton oder Cortenstahl werden entsorgt und aus der Umwelt gesprengt, um neuen Glaspalästen zu weichen. Wie gerne schauen wir uns Videoclips von einstürzenden Neubauten an, die fachgerecht und zeitnah mit Sprengstoff demoliert werden. Alekos Hofstetter und Florian Göpfert unterwandern in ihren Zeichnungen des Werkzyklus Tannhäuser Tor die Notwendigkeit einer utopischen Nostalgie als wirksamen Gegenpol angesichts einer Entradikalisierung der Vorstellungskraft und funktionieren daher mit einer gehörigen Portion künstlerischer Dreistigkeit Bauten der Nachkriegsmoderne zu zeitlosen Kultstätten um. In ihren Arbeiten erscheint Nostalgie ausschließlich als ironische Form des Stillstands und funktioniert damit als ein anderes Zeitbild, in dem die menschliche Gestalt und alle Hoffnungen ihrer Verwirklichung überflüssig geworden sind.

Mit dieser Sichtweise weisen Hofstetter und Göpfert auch auf die zerstörerischen Utopien in der Vorstellungskraft des 20. Jahrhunderts hin, in denen der Stalinismus die logische Konsequenz der Moderne bedeutet oder der Futurismus schnurstracks in der Ästhetisierung des Faschismus mündet. Sie deuten dabei, und das ist besonders frech, eine direkte Verbindung zur Ästhetik der Nachkriegszeit und des Kalten Krieges an. Diese Zeit, so das Künstlerduo, ist ebenso geprägt von einer menschenleeren Überlegenheit des Materials. Die Macht des Materials schließt den einzelnen Menschen aus, zugunsten eines abstrakten Ideals des sozialistischen Genossen oder des sozialdemokratischen Staatsbürgers.

Solch ein Verfahren vereint mithin den bundesrepublikanischen Nachkriegsstädtebau in Hannover und die Neubauten in Halle-Neustadt, die Pariser Trabantenstädte und die Arbeitersiedlungen in Glasgow, und macht die Parallelen zwischen dem globalen Versprechen der Vereinten Nationen und der Vermessenheit einer Planhauptstadt im Hochland von Brasilien sichtbar. Die überordnende Symbolkraft des Nachkriegsstadtbildes, durch die bei den Olympischen Spielen in Sarajevo die Völkerfreundschaft beschworen wird, während Drachenfels und Petersberg im Siebengebirge über die Genügsamkeit einer Bonner Republik wachen, findet sich in der Einbildungskraft des Tannhäuser Tors wieder, ebenso wie etwa Anspielungen auf die titoistischen Gedenkstätten zur Schlacht an der Sutjeska und das Denkmal für die Revolution in Podgarić, auf französische Feriensiedlungen oder das Panoramarestaurant in der Bergwelt des Piz Gloria. Die Tatsache, dass sich eine Festung Ernst Stavro Blofelds als ein solches Wintersportreiseziel entpuppte, gehört genauso dazu wie die Szenenbilder Ken Adams in den Filmen eines Geheimagenten ihrer Majestät oder die sentimentalen Erinnerungsfetzen eines von der Tyrell Corporation geschaffenen Androiden, dessen Vorstellungskraft die einzelner menschlicher Individuen bei Weitem übersteigt.

Deutsche Arbeiter wurden einst gewarnt: „die SPD will euch eure Villen im Tessin wegnehmen“. Gleichsam sind die brutalistischen Neu- und Umbauten des Tannhäuser Tor in ihren pseudo-romantisch angelegten Landschaften mit Abfallfragmenten der postmodernen Semiotik wohl eher eine schlaue Finte. Beton. Es kommt eben drauf an, was man draus macht. Alekos Hofstetter und Florian Göpfert beschäftigen sich indessen mit der Konditionierung menschlicher Sinnlichkeit durch Architektur. Herrschaftsansprüche und Machtmechanismen bestimmen nämlich auch, ob und in welchem Maße durch architektonische Entwürfe Unübersichtlichkeit, Verwirrung und eine Überforderung der Sinnlichkeit inszeniert werden. Hofstetter und Göpfert holen dabei paradoxerweise auf dem Wege der Entrückung zurück, was in die Ferne abgeglitten war, und liefern gleichzeitig analytisch klar einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einem längst überfälligen sozial-ästhetischen Diskurs um die Verödung, die die fortschreitende Verdrängung der Moderne nach sich ziehen muss. An deren Ausklang wurde sogar das Ende der Geschichte posaunt, und ob solch einer Erklärung zeigen uns die Tannhäuser Tor-Zeichnungen, dass die Verbindung von Architektur zu Herrschaftsansprüchen und Machtmechanismen auch heute noch maßgeblich ist.

Nach dem Ende der Geschichte finden wir die Überreste längst vergessener Zivilisationen, wie Forschungsreisende auf der Schwelle bei Jules Verne: die Geheimnisvolle Insel, Machu Picchu, Tumak, oder das, was Benjamin damals den „namenlosen Fron“ der Zeitgenossen nannte. In diesen fernen, anderen Ländern beharren die Bauwerke am Tannhäuser Tor auf ihre Daseinsberechtigung und werden dereinst dort auch allen sozialdemokratischen Versprechungen gerecht, so wie die wilhelminischen Machtphantasien des 19. Jahrhunderts ihr Denkmal im Teutoburger Wald fanden. Auch sie versprachen damals sinnstiftende Ruhe, während wir hier Zeitzeugen eines vergänglichen Brutalismus werden, wiederauferstanden aus Ruinen und mit menschlichem Antlitz. Sollte dieser Blick aber verschwinden, mahnt das Tannhäuser Tor, wird unser gemeinsamer Alltag bald Teil einer vergangenen, zukünftigen Zeit sein, die nur darauf gehofft hatte, weiterhin warten zu dürfen.

(1) Walter Benjamin, „Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit“, in Gesammelte Schriften - Band I, Teil 2: Abhandlungen, Frankfurt am Main: Suhrkamp, 1980.
(2) Antonio Sant'Elia (1888-1916), Manifesto dell’Architettura Futurista, Lacerba 2:15, Milano, 1914.
(3) Das Tannhäuser Tor ist ein fiktiver Ort, der erstmals im Film Blade Runner (Ridley Scott, USA 1982) erwähnt wird.

⇑  zum Seitenanfang
Impressum